IFAPP Academy President/CEO, Module Chair

Honorio Silva, MD, FAPCR, CQM

Adjunct Professor at the BioPharma Educational Initiative, Rutgers University School of Health Related Professions (Newark, NJ); President for the International Federation of Associations of Pharmaceutical Physicians and Pharmaceutical Medicine (IFAPP)*


Dr. Silva served in the pharmaceutical industry for 30 years. He retired as Vice President, Science and Medical Professional Development, within the External Medical Affairs group of Pfizer, Inc. Dr. Silva began his career as Medical Director, Pfizer – Venezuela before transferring to Pfizer’s New York headquarters. He then served as Vice President, Medical and Regulatory Affairs, Japan, Asia, Africa & Latin America.

He began his medical education in Argentina, and received postgraduate training in internal medicine and clinical pharmacology in Argentina and Venezuela, respectively.  He was actively involved in clinical research  as part of his previous academic activities as Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacology,  Razetti Medical School , Universidad Central de Venezuela .

Dr. Silva has authored or co-authored more than 100 publications on cardiovascular disease, arterial hypertension, infectious diseases, clinical pharmacology and outcomes based medical education. While serving as President for both the Board of and the Venezuelan Society for Clinical Pharmacology and the Venezuelan Society of Pharmacology, he pioneered CME/CPD activities in Venezuela and Latin America. He also pioneered on-line postgraduate education and continuing professional development programs in Clinical Research, Cardiovascular Risk and Pharmaceutical Medicine across continents.

He was pivotal in  the creation and development of a number of International Medical Societies and non-profit organizations, and has established multiple strategic alliances between medical associations, academic institutions and the pharmaceutical industry aimed at advancing and improving health care internationally.  He has received several awards for his contributions to clinical research and medical education.

*He also serves as Vice President for the Alliance for Clinical Research Excellence and Safety (ACRES, the Academy of Physicians in Clinical Research (USA) and the Board of the PharmaTrain Federation.